Think – Die Hard in Disneyland! (Out in June – Alpha by Greg Rucka)

Alpha

by  Greg Rucka

This was sold into me thus: Think – Die Hard in Disneyland! How could I resist? I took the proof copy home and started it that very night. A few nights later I was done. Very well written and well observed, ALPHA starts slowly (methodically) but the tension builds and builds until I was turning the pages faster than I could read them. I HAD to know how it ended. Fun stuff.

With bad guys who think themselves above all moral codes, who will stop at nothing to attain their ends, and a good guy who is so good at being awesome it hurts, ALPHA is the perfect read for fans of LEE CHILD, DIE HARD and BOURNE.

Blurb:

When terrorists attack the most famous theme park in America, one man stands in their way – expect explosive action from the start in a new series by New York Times bestselling author Greg Rucka.

Jonathan ‘Jad’ Bell has spent a lifetime in the US army. He can be relied on to get the job done, whatever happens, whatever the cost.

So when someone needs to go undercover at the nation’s biggest amusement park, Jad is the obvious choice. Aside from dealing with fights and missing children, his main responsibility is to prevent the nightmare scenario from coming to pass.

This is the nightmare scenario:

A group of well-trained, highly motivated terrorists infiltrate the park. They cut off all escape routes. They take hostages. They ensure every camera in the world is trained on Wilsonville…and then they turn it into a bloodbath.

And on the day the nightmare becomes real, Jad and his team are all that stands between a band of ruthless killers and thousands of innocent people… including Jad’s estranged wife and daughter.

Available 12th June 2012

Click here to order a copy of ALPHA from Booktopia,
Australia’s No. 1 Online Book Shop

About the Author

Greg Rucka is the bestselling author of nearly a dozen novels published in the US. He has also written several short-stories, countless comics, and the occasional non-fiction essay. In comics, he has had the opportunity to write stories featuring some of the world`s best-known characters – Superman, Batman, and Wonder Woman – and is currently working on Punisher. He lives in Portland, Oregon, with his wife and two children.

Praise:

“”Rucka gets his new series featuring Ex-Delta Force Master Sergeant Jad Bell off to a smashing start with this pitch-perfect thriller. This lean, mean thriller with just the right amount of character development and unexpected complications will appeal to all who enjoy this genre but particularly to readers who like a strong hero along the lines of Lee Child’s Jack Reacher. Highly recommended.”Library Journal (starred review)

Pulse-pounding….Rucka mixes suspense and an alarmingly realistic plot with ease.”–Publishers Weekly

An interesting setting, a liable hero, an appropriately clever villain, and a gripping story. A real corker.”--Booklist

Greg Rucka is one of the best writers in the world.”–Brian Michael Bendis, writer of Ultimate Spider-Man, Ultimate X-Men and Ultimate Fantastic Four

“ALPHA is hands down, the most exciting, adrenaline-pumping, butt-kicking novel I’ve read in years. Rucka is the real deal. If this one doesn’t make you stay up late rooting for the good guys, you don’t have a heartbeat. Highly recommended!”–Christopher Reich, New York Times bestselling author of Rules of Deception and Numbered Account )

“One of our best writers.”–Lee Child

Read Greg Rucka. It’s that simple. Open one of his books and what you’ve got is a fistful of dynamite.”–The Cincinnati Enquirer

Greg Rucka is a refreshingly bold talent.”–Dennis Lehane

A true professional.”–Chicago Tribune

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 981 other followers

%d bloggers like this: