Revelations About J.K. Rowling’s Secret New Book Shock The World

J.K. Rowling’s second book written as Robert Galbraith is now available for pre-order. Click here for more details.

The world went to bed last night confident in the belief that J.K. Rowling’s last novel was 2012’s The Casual Vacancy.

It woke to the news that the best selling author has a new book. Out now. And it’s been out since April.

WHAT!

You see, Rowling published the book The Cuckoo’s Calling in April, under the pen name Robert Galbraith. The book has received praise, and as critics investigated the mysterious identity of the debut novelist they got a gigantic surprise when it emerged that the real author was one J.K. Rowling.

The Cuckoo’s Calling represents a wonderful opportunity for Rowling fans and others not so fond of magical boarding school students.

For Potter fans, The Cuckoo’s Calling is another chance to savour Rowling’s rich imagery and signature sense of joy that resonates with every word she writes.

For all others, this is the opportunity to read one of the most successful novelists of our generation writing for nothing but writing’s sake. Not to be judged, measured, or worried about the bottom line. Simply to write a novel for the world to enjoy, and one they can be proud of.

An opportunity to read something like this doesn’t come around very often.

Click here to buy The Cuckoo’s Calling from Booktopia,
Australia’s Local Bookstore

The Cuckoo’s Calling

by Robert Galbraith (J.K. Rowling)

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran – wounded both physically and psychologically – and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model’s complex world, the darker things get – and the closer he gets to terrible danger…

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London – from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho – The Cuckoo’s Calling is a remarkable book.

Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

Click here to buy The Cuckoo’s Calling from Booktopia,
Australia’s Local Bookstore

rowling said no one ever

6 Responses

  1. […] a few weeks before originally planned, as the writer of a new crime fiction novel. ‘ The Cuckoo’s Calling’ was published a few months ago with no real fanfare, and sold 1500 copies before its famous author […]

    Like

  2. […] Revelations About J.K. Rowling’s Secret New Book Shock The World (booktopia.com.au) […]

    Like

  3. But why publish under a pen name only to come out a month later?

    Like

    • She didn’t come out; she was outed by someone else. She wanted it to remain a secret for longer than three months (not one).

      Like

    • I read somewhere that she didn’t come out but was called out by a reviewer or journalist who put the novel into some sort of matching program on the computer which likened it to her other work (stylistically or word/phrase choice perhaps). Don’t know how true that is though. Supposedly quite a few reviewers had already picked up that Robert Galbraith was female.

      Like

  4. I love that she did this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,055 other followers

%d bloggers like this: