Wimpy Kids, Treehouses and Harry Potter: Emily Meredith guides us through her 25 Kids Books of the Month.

by |October 18, 2016

Welcome to Booktoberfest, Booktopia’s annual celebration of books, authors and of course you – our readers and book lovers!

In this post I’ve selected the hottest kids books – everything from the latest Wimpy Kid, Dork Diaries, Treehouse and Magnus Chase instalments, to the dazzling illustrated Harry Potter book.

If you order any of the kids books from this post, you’ll go into the draw to win a kids prize pack worth $800! And, if you order any book from the Booktoberfest Showcase you’ll go into the draw to win a year’s supply of books. That’s a $50 gift voucher every week – for an entire year!

Emily Meredith’s Book of the Month

xdouble-down-jpg-pagespeed-ic-q55yifupnkDouble Down
Diary of a Wimpy Kid Series: Book 11
by Jeff Kinney

The pressure’s really piling up on Greg Heffley. His mom thinks video games are turning his brain to mush, so she wants her son to put down the controller and explore his “creative side.”

As if that’s not scary enough, Halloween’s just around the corner and the frights are coming at Greg from every angle. When Greg discovers a bag of gummy worms, it sparks an idea. Can he get his mom off his back by making a movie … and will he become rich and famous in the process? Or will doubling down on this plan just double Greg’s troubles? … Learn more


Emily Meredith chats about her Kids Books of the Month

Emily Meredith’s Kids Picks of the Month

xthe-midnight-gang-jpg-pagespeed-ic-eaeche5luqThe Midnight Gang
by David Walliams, Tony Ross (Illustrator)

When Tom gets hit on the head by a cricket ball, he finds himself at Lord Funt Hospital, and is greeted by a terrifying-looking porter. Things go from bad to worse when he meets the wicked matron in charge of the children’s ward… But Tom is about to embark on the most thrilling journey of a lifetime!

The Midnight Gang tells an extraordinarily heartwarming and, of course, funny story of five children on a hospital ward – and on a quest for adventure! It is a story of friendship and magic – and of making dreams come true. Readers are set to be utterly spellbound by this heartfelt story that will bring magic to everyone’s Christmas… Learn more

xthe-78-storey-treehouse-jpg-pagespeed-ic-paxj6c2poThe 78-Storey Treehouse
Treehouse Series: Book 6
 by Andy Griffiths, Terry Denton (Illustrator)

Review by Emily Meredith

The boys are BACK! The treehouse has 13 new levels – there’s a drive-thru car wash, Andyland (populated by Andy clones), Terryland (full of crazy Terry clones), a combining machine (make crazy animal hybrids!), and so much more.

In this book, the boys aren’t hurrying to write another story for their angry publisher, as they were in the other stories. This time, there’s a movie-maker in town! Mr Big Shot wants to make a movie about the boys, but he doesn’t like the way they always do things. So much crazy treehouse action is packed into this book! And be sure to look out for the spiky cows on each page! … Learn more

9781408845653Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Harry Potter Illustrated Edition: Book 2
by J. K. Rowling, Jim Kay (Illustrator)

Prepare to be spellbound by Jim Kay’s dazzling full-colour illustrations in this stunning new edition of J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets.

Breathtaking scenes, dark themes and unforgettable characters – including Dobby and Gilderoy Lockhart – await inside this fully illustrated edition. With paint, pencil and pixels, award-winning illustrator Jim Kay conjures the wizarding world as we have never seen it before… Learn more




xfrenemies-forever-jpg-pagespeed-ic-jothpe_r2xFrenemies Forever
Dork Diaries Series: Book 11
by Rachel Renee Russell

Nikki and her friends Brandon, Chloe, and Zoey are up for another adventure in the eleventh book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Dork Diaries series.

Perfect for fans of Wimpy Kid, Tom Gates, Jacqueline Wilson and James Patterson … Learn more

xguinness-world-records-2017-jpg-pagespeed-ic-za8u7xrbd8Guinness World Records 2017
by Guinness Worlds Records, Buzz Aldrin (Foreword by), Chris Hadfield (Introduction by)

The record-breaking record book is back with a fresh new design and 13 chapters containing thousands of new and updated records, awe-inspiring never-before-seen photographs and a bucketload of facts, stats, figures and trivia.

Look out, too, for our all-new Factographic features and a special chapter dedicated to helping you become a record breaker… Learn more

Must Have Titles For Christmas


Did You Love…?

xthe-world-s-worst-children-jpg-pagespeed-ic-30uyttr7-iThe World’s Worst Children
by David Walliams, Tony Ross (Illustrator)

Are you ready to meet the World’s Worst Children? Five beastly boys and five gruesome girls!

Like Sofia Sofa – a TV super-fan so stuck to the sofa that she’s turning into one! Or Dribbling Drew – a boy whose drool gets him into trouble on a school trip! And not forgetting Blubbering Bertha – a girl who bawls and tells terrible tales! Also featuring a special appearance from fan-favourite Raj!

From Number One bestselling author David Walliams comes this collection of wickedly funny, deliciously mischievous tales… Learn more




Artie and the Grime Wave – Order Your Signed Copy!
by Richard Roxburgh

Review by Emily Meredith

Aussie celebrities have been on a roll this year! Artie and the Grime Wave is totally fantastic for fans of Isla Fisher’s Marge in Charge and Alan Brough’s Charlie and the War Against the Grannies.

Artie and his best friend Bumshoe have stumbled upon a mystery. Artie doesn’t really want to have an adventure – life is complicated enough – but he doesn’t really get a choice. He gets dragged into discovering exactly what is happening to the town’s disappearing pets.

With a cast of interesting characters, a fantastic collection of subplots, and some truly wonderful humorous weapons (such as a snot gun!), Artie and the Grime Wave is a great adventure story… Learn more

the-unforgettable-what-s-his-nameThe Unforgettable What’s His Name
by Paul Jennings

Review by Emily Meredith

This is a very funny story about a young boy who doesn’t quite fit anywhere – he just kind of blends in. And then he discovers a power which isn’t all that awesome – he can camouflage himself completely; he can become a tree, a postbox, a chameleon – but how can he control it?

Craig Smith’s illustrations are also fantastic. It’s a really beautifully presented book, funny and sweet, with an underlying message of learning to be comfortable in your own skin, whatever skin that might be… Learn more

xmarge-in-charge-jpg-pagespeed-ic-juawfyjrq_Marge in Charge
by Isla Fisher

Review by Emily Meredith

Marge in Charge is a wondrously funny collection. There are three stories in the book, featuring Jemima, Jake and their amazing babysitter Marge, who is incredibly tiny, and grew up in a palace! She always adds something fun to the to-do list Mum leaves behind.

I absolutely wish that I had had a babysitter like Marge – and I’m very tempted to try my hand at the chocolate soup she creates! The illustrations by Eglantine Ceulemans are also just fantastic!… Learn more

No comments Share:

About the Contributor

Emily is an advocate for quiet reading time - all the time. She spends every spare moment with her nose in a book; there are too many books and not enough time for other hobbies!

Follow Emily: Twitter Website


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *