J.K Rowling publishes new Harry Potter story

J.K Rowling has published a new Harry Potter short story on her Harry Potter fan site Pottermore. The 1,500-word piece released this morning centres on a now 34-year-old Harry Potter with greying hair attending the Quidditch World Cup 2014.

Rowling has also been writing other pieces on the tournament for Pottermore to coincide with the World Cup in Brazil.

Rowling writes that as Harry approaches 34, he has “threads of silver” in his black hair, and also sports a mysterious cut over his cheekbone. Ron’s hair, meanwhile, “appears to be thinning slightly.” Their wives Ginny and Hermione and their children, along with ex-Dumbledore’s Army members Luna Lovegood and Neville Longbottom, all feature in the sharp-quilled piece that offers updates on their current lives.

J.K Rowling has been as busy as ever since finishing the Harry Potter series with her latest novel (written as Robert Galbraith) The Silkworm enjoying critical acclaim since its release.

For your chance to win a hardcover edition signed by J.K Rowling as Robert Galbraith click here.

New Novel by J.K. Rowling to be Published in June

J.K. Rowling is back!

After the commercial and critical success of her venture into crime novels with The Cuckoo’s Calling Rowling, writing again as Robert Galbraith, returns with The Silkworm, a novel that has an intriguing twist, the murder of a famous novelist!

Needless to say we’re excited, and you should be too.

If The Casual Vacancy didn’t prove once and for all that J.K. Rowling is more than just wizards and warlocks, then The Cuckoo’s Calling certainly did. Beat the rush and pre-order today.

Grab a copy of J.K. Rowling’s The Silkworm here

The Silkworm

by J.K. Rowling

(writing as Robert Galbraith)

When novelist Owen Quine goes missing, his wife calls in private detective Cormoran Strike. At first, she just thinks he has gone off by himself for a few days – as he has done before – and she wants Strike to find him and bring him home. But as Strike investigates, it becomes clear that there is more to Quine’s disappearance than his wife realises.

The novelist has just completed a manuscript featuring poisonous pen-portraits of almost everyone he knows. If the novel were published it would ruin lives – so there are a lot of people who might want to silence him. And when Quine is found brutally murdered in bizarre circumstances, it becomes a race against time to understand the motivation of a ruthless killer, a killer unlike any he has encountered before…

The Silkworm is the second in the highly acclaimed series featuring Cormoran Strike and his determined young assistant Robin Ellacott.

Grab a copy of J.K. Rowling’s The Silkworm here

Winners of the Maggie Beer, Stephen King, J.K. Rowling and Jennifer Saunders prizes!

Maggie Beer Hamper – valued at over $500!

B. Colebrook, Nelson Bay, NSW

Grab a copy of Maggie’s Christmas here


imag1263-1Winner of THE ULTIMATE STEPHEN KING BOOK PACK – over 50 titles!

H. Carruthers, Torrens Park, SA


Grab a copy of Doctor Sleep here


the-casual-vacancyWinners of a signed copy of The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling!

L.Hope, Castle Hill, NSW
E.Lewis, Clifton Hill, VIC
E. McMurdie, Silvan, VIC
F. Coman, Mont Albert, VIC
B. Zerner, Fairfield, QLD
P. McGahan, Toowoomba, QLD


Grab a copy of The Casual Vacancy here


bonkers-my-life-in-laughsWinners of a signed copy of Bonkers : My Life in Laughs by Jennifer Saunders

B. Kemmis, Toormina, NSW
C. Teh, Narraweena, NSW
M. Strang, Pymble, NSW
Y. Gray, Strathfield, NSW
L. Fuller, Baulkham Hills, NSW
R. Morrison, Kiama Downs, NSW
A. Jones, Cannington, WA
D. Griffiths, Prahran, VIC
G. Barker, Bentleigh, VIC
P. Buttigieg, North Perth, WA


Grab a copy of Bonkers here


Congratulations to all the winners!
A Booktopia representative will be in contact with you via email or phone during December to confirm delivery of your prize.

REVIEW: The Cuckoo’s Calling (Review by Hayley Shephard)

the-cuckoo-s-callingFrom the outset I want to say I’m a HUGE J.K. Rowling fan, but I’ve never really been a fan of crime fiction, and as I started reading The Cuckoo’s Calling, I wondered if Rowling would win me over. With the words over-flowing I asked myself whether I would be able to keep track or even remember the many characters who could possibly be attached to the apparent suicide of one model named, Lula Landry.

But as I kept reading I found myself more interested in the story and more eager to follow Detective Cormoran Strike, in his quest to find the killer, which at first even he is sceptical exists.

The abundance of adjectives and verbs helped me to better picture the characters and crime scenes that inhabit this modern-day London, or more specifically, the celebrity obsessed world that we live in and those that covet its riches.jkrowling

After each chapter I drew my own conclusions from the evidence presented to me through the detailed detective work of Cormoran Strike. I got that eerie feeling you get from certain characters and that pity you develop for others. These feelings helped me to group together my three final suspects.

Of my three suspects, one was the killer, so I was certainly proud of myself. But I guess that is what crime novels are all about: they present you with many suspects that you must break-down, but you are still left with a few.

Once again, J.K. Rowling has done it. Post Harry Potter, there’s been a big hole in my life that I needed to fill. Rowling has not only filled it, but crime fiction now has a new fan.

Click here to buy The Cuckoo’s Calling from Booktopia,
Australia’s Local Bookstore

Want a signed copy of J.K. Rowlings’ The Casual Vacancy?

Just buy a copy of J.K. Rowling’s The Cuckoo’s Calling and go in the draw!

Click here to buy The Cuckoo’s Calling from Booktopia,
Australia’s Local Bookstore

Win A Signed Copy Of J.K. Rowling’s The Casual Vacancy

Wow, big news for J.K. Rowling fans.

Just buy a copy of J.K. Rowling’s acclaimed adult novels The Casual Vacancy or The Cuckoo’s Calling and go in the draw to win a copy of The Casual Vacancy signed by J.K. Rowling herself!

It doesn’t get much bigger than that. We’ve been gazing at her signature all week at the Booktopia offices, but now it’s time for you to put yourself in the running to win it!

Hurry, you have until the 10th of December to give yourself a chance at this opportunity to own a signed J.K. Rowling book of your very own!

The Cuckoo’s Calling

by J. K. Rowling (writing as Robert Galbraith)

A remarkable debut – a classic crime novel in the tradition of James and Rendell.

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case.

A war veteran, wounded both physically and psychologically, Strike’s life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model’s complex world, the darker things get – and the closer he gets to terrible danger. . .

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London – from the hushed streets of Mayfair, to the backstreet pubs of the East End, to the bustle of Soho – The Cuckoo’s Calling is the next remarkable novel from Harry Potter’s J.K. Rowling. Introducing Cormoran Strike, it is a classic crime novel in the tradition of PD James and Ruth Rendell, and unlike any other book you will read this year.

Click here to buy The Cuckoo’s Calling from Booktopia,
Australia’s Local Bookstore

The Casual Vacancy

by J.K. Rowling

When Barry Fairbrother dies in his early forties, the town of Pagford is left in shock.

Pagford is, seemingly, an English idyll, with a cobbled market square and an ancient abbey, but what lies behind the pretty facade is a town at war.

Rich at war with poor, teenagers at war with their parents, wives at war with their husbands, teachers at war with their pupils. . . Pagford is not what it first seems.

And the empty seat left by Barry on the parish council soon becomes the catalyst for the biggest war the town has yet seen. Who will triumph in an election fraught with passion, duplicity and unexpected revelations?

A big novel about a small town, The Casual Vacancy is J.K. Rowling’s first novel for adults. It is the work of a storyteller like no other.

Click here to buy The Casual Vacancy from Booktopia,
Australia’s Local Bookstore

J.K. Rowling To Pen New Wizard Series

J.K. Rowling and Warner Bros. have announced that she will adapt her Hogwarts textbook, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, into an cinematic adventure about that book’s fictitious author, Newt Scamander. Rowling’s first-ever screenplay is expected to be the first of a series of new films about the wizarding world that fans know well from the Potter books and movies.

“Although it will be set in the worldwide community of witches and wizards where I was so happy for 17 years, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is neither a prequel nor a sequel to the Harry Potter series, but an extension of the wizarding world,” said Rowling, in a statement. “The laws and customs of the hidden magical society will be familiar to anyone who has read the Harry Potter books or seen the films, but Newt’s story will start in New York, 70 years before Harry’s gets underway.”

9781408803011Scamander has long been part of the Potter universe, ever since he got a brief mention in the first book, Harry Potter And The Philosopher’s Stone. One of Hogwarts’ esteemed former headmasters, his image occasionally popped up in the wizarding school’s living portraits. Scamander had been an expert Magizoologist — a student of magical creatures — ever since a childhood fascination with hippogriffs and he went on to work for the Ministry of Magic. Beginning in 1918, he spent nearly a decade researching and writing Fantastic Beasts, traveling to every corner of the globe in his spare time to research the wizarding world’s most fascination creatures.

Click here to buy Fantastic Beast & Where To Find Them from Booktopia,
Australia’s Local Bookstore

Revelations About J.K. Rowling’s Secret New Book Shock The World

J.K. Rowling’s second book written as Robert Galbraith is now available for pre-order. Click here for more details.

The world went to bed last night confident in the belief that J.K. Rowling’s last novel was 2012’s The Casual Vacancy.

It woke to the news that the best selling author has a new book. Out now. And it’s been out since April.

WHAT!

You see, Rowling published the book The Cuckoo’s Calling in April, under the pen name Robert Galbraith. The book has received praise, and as critics investigated the mysterious identity of the debut novelist they got a gigantic surprise when it emerged that the real author was one J.K. Rowling.

Continue reading

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,080 other followers

%d bloggers like this: