Search results for tag: John Purcell

REVIEW: Maestra by L.S. Hilton

The buzz around this book is incredible. It has been sold into so many countries around the world I have lost count. In the tradition of Fifty Shades, Gone Girl, and Girl on a Train, Maestra by L.S. Hilton has all the hallmarks of a bestseller. You’ll be seeing people reading this on planes, trains, buses, down at the beach, in parks – wherever people have a minute to sneak in anoth... Read more

by | February 15, 2016

REVIEW: Stoner by John L. Williams

Review by John Purcell I completely missed the talk about Stoner by John Williams. Originally published in 1965 to critical praise and few sales it sank like a stone until 2003 when it was rediscovered and celebrated as an American classic. I don’t know what I was doing at the time. Probably sitting in my second-hand bookshop reading and taking no notice of the world. Blissful memories. W... Read more

by | January 22, 2016

REVIEW: My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante

Review by John Purcell Why do I put off reading books which come with a great many excellent recommendations? Is it some residue from my adolescent self, standing firm against the coercion of the group? Probably something as stupid as that. Well, I’m glad I overcame that foolishness when it came to picking up this much lauded, discussed and recommended novel, which is the first in a serie... Read more

by | January 20, 2016

Booktopia’s John Purcell amongst the big names appearing at the 2015 Bendigo Writers Festival

Booktopia’s resident Book Guru and bestselling author John Purcell heads up an all-star lineup at this year’s Bendigo Writers Festival. John Marsden, Bob Brown, Alice Pung, Graeme Simsion, John Clarke, Cate Kennedy, Robert Dessaix, Don Watson, Ellie Marney, Latika Bourke, David Astle, David M Henley, Max Gillies, Paddy O’Reilly, Robyn Davidson, Tariq Ali and The Gourmet Farmer’... Read more

by | July 27, 2015

David Day, author of Paul Keating: The Biography, chats to John Purcell

David Day is one of Australia’s most respected historians, author of the award-winning biographies of John Curtin and Ben Chifley. He chats to John Purcell about his latest book Paul Keating: The Biography. Grab a copy of Paul Keating: The Biography here Paul Keating: The Biography The Story of A Prime Minister Paul Keating was one of the most significant political figures of the late twe... Read more

by | March 23, 2015

EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW: Michael Palin chats to John Purcell about life, Python, and diary-keeping

Michael Palin is one of the world’s most recognisable comedians and television presenters. After establishing himself with Monty Python’s Flying Circus, he went on to appear in the acclaimed Monty Python films, as well as A Fish Called Wanda and American Friends, as well as writing books to accompany his hugely successful travel series including Himalaya and Pole to Pole. He chats t... Read more

by | March 20, 2015