Search results for tag: Memoir

Heartache. Failure. Success. Sporting legend Chris Judd chats to Booktopia TV about his insightful new memoir, Inside.

How does a man end up captaining two of the greatest footy clubs in the league? Win a Brownlow Medal twice? Be selected as an All Australian six times? Find out how Chris Judd did exactly that and cemented his status as an Australian sporting legend in his new memoir, Inside. We’ve got signed copies for fans, so get in quick. Only limited numbers left! Grab your signed copy of Chris Judd:... Read more

by | November 12, 2015

BOOK REVIEW: Second Half First by Drusilla Modjeska (Review by Caroline Baum)

What a welcome return this memoir is, from one of my favourite writers of non-fiction. Fans of Poppy, The Orchard and Stravinsky’s Lunch will, like me, welcome this finely woven lattice of memory. In a tone of gentle melancholy (very similar to that of her speaking voice), Modjeska scrutinises her own intellectual development and the losses and sadnesses of her life: most particularly and... Read more

by | September 23, 2015

Rabia Siddique, author of Equal Justice, answers Ten Terrifying Questions

The Booktopia Book Guru asks Rabia Siddique author of Equal Justice Ten Terrifying Questions ____________ 1. To begin with why don’t you tell us a little bit about yourself – where were you born? Raised? Schooled? I am a first generation Australian. My father is a Muslim Indian, my mother a British/Scottish Australian. I spent my early years in India and we immigrated to Perth in the late... Read more

by | December 14, 2014