J.K. Rowling and Hunter S. Thompson featured tonight on The Book Club…

Rowling and Thompson, together at last! Tonight the folks at ABC TV’s The Book Club will be sinking their teeth into a couple of great books, The Cuckoo’s Calling and Fear and Loathing In Las Vegas.

Tune into ABC at 10pm tonight to watch the usual team of Jennifer Byrne, Jason Steger and Marieke Hardy chatting with tonight’s guests Lucy Turnbull and John Birmingham.

Coincidentally, you could also win a signed copy of J.K. Rowling’s The Casual Vacancy by buying The Cuckoo’s Calling from Booktopia before the 10th of December. How good is that!

The Cuckoo’s Calling

by Robert Galbraith (J.K. Rowling)

A remarkable debut – a classic crime novel in the tradition of James and Rendell.

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case.

A war veteran, wounded both physically and psychologically, Strike’s life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model’s complex world, the darker things get – and the closer he gets to terrible danger. . .

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London – from the hushed streets of Mayfair, to the backstreet pubs of the East End, to the bustle of Soho – The Cuckoo’s Calling is a remarkable debut. Introducing Cormoran Strike, it is a classic crime novel in the tradition of PD James and Ruth Rendell, and unlike any other book you will read this year.

Grab a copy of The Cuckoo’s Calling here

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas

by Hunter S. Thompson

Stylish reissue of a classic first published in the 1970s: Hunter S Thompson’s ether-fuelled, savage journey to the heart of the American Dream.

‘We were somewhere around Barstow on the edge of the desert when the drugs began to take hold. And suddenly there was a terrible roar all around us and the sky was full of what looked like huge bats, all swooping and screeching and diving around the car, which was going about a hundred miles an hour with the top down to Las Vegas’

As knights of old buckled on armour of supernatural power, so Hunter S. Thompson enters Las Vegas armed with a veritable arsenal of ‘heinous chemicals’. His perilous, drug-enhanced confrontations with casino operators, bartenders, police officers and assorted representatives of the Silent Majority have a hallucinatory humour and nightmare terror never before seen on the printed page.

Grab a copy of Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas here

REVIEW: The Cuckoo’s Calling (Review by Hayley Shephard)

the-cuckoo-s-callingFrom the outset I want to say I’m a HUGE J.K. Rowling fan, but I’ve never really been a fan of crime fiction, and as I started reading The Cuckoo’s Calling, I wondered if Rowling would win me over. With the words over-flowing I asked myself whether I would be able to keep track or even remember the many characters who could possibly be attached to the apparent suicide of one model named, Lula Landry.

But as I kept reading I found myself more interested in the story and more eager to follow Detective Cormoran Strike, in his quest to find the killer, which at first even he is sceptical exists.

The abundance of adjectives and verbs helped me to better picture the characters and crime scenes that inhabit this modern-day London, or more specifically, the celebrity obsessed world that we live in and those that covet its riches.jkrowling

After each chapter I drew my own conclusions from the evidence presented to me through the detailed detective work of Cormoran Strike. I got that eerie feeling you get from certain characters and that pity you develop for others. These feelings helped me to group together my three final suspects.

Of my three suspects, one was the killer, so I was certainly proud of myself. But I guess that is what crime novels are all about: they present you with many suspects that you must break-down, but you are still left with a few.

Once again, J.K. Rowling has done it. Post Harry Potter, there’s been a big hole in my life that I needed to fill. Rowling has not only filled it, but crime fiction now has a new fan.

Click here to buy The Cuckoo’s Calling from Booktopia,
Australia’s Local Bookstore

Want a signed copy of J.K. Rowlings’ The Casual Vacancy?

Just buy a copy of J.K. Rowling’s The Cuckoo’s Calling and go in the draw!

Click here to buy The Cuckoo’s Calling from Booktopia,
Australia’s Local Bookstore

Revelations About J.K. Rowling’s Secret New Book Shock The World

J.K. Rowling’s second book written as Robert Galbraith is now available for pre-order. Click here for more details.

The world went to bed last night confident in the belief that J.K. Rowling’s last novel was 2012’s The Casual Vacancy.

It woke to the news that the best selling author has a new book. Out now. And it’s been out since April.

WHAT!

You see, Rowling published the book The Cuckoo’s Calling in April, under the pen name Robert Galbraith. The book has received praise, and as critics investigated the mysterious identity of the debut novelist they got a gigantic surprise when it emerged that the real author was one J.K. Rowling.

Continue reading

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 14,634 other followers

%d bloggers like this: