Toni Whitmont review: The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forna and other winners from the Sydney Writers’ Festival

For a literary festival that was built around the theme of power, the Sydney Writers’ Festival, which finished up on Sunday night, certainly packed a punch. In fact, its opening salvo, an address given by Pakistan’s Fatima Bhutto, appropriately called Nation on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown, set the tone for what was a week long exploration of power and passion.

With topics that ranged across all genres and all ages, the giants were all there. Whether it be AC Grayling and Cassandra Clare, they were all on offer for readers to meet and greet.

And the best thing about the festival? The fact that more than 80,000 people who generally indulge in that most solitary of habits – reading – came out in force to Continue reading

BREAKING NEWS: Peter Temple Wins the 2010 Miles Franklin Literary Award for his Novel, Truth!

The Miles Franklin Literary Award 2010

Congratulations to Peter Temple who was awarded the Miles Franklin Literary Award for 2010.

Announced at an award dinner in Sydney on 22 June 2010, Peter Temple was presented this year’s prize of $42,000 for his novel Truth.

Temple’s winning novel is the much anticipated sequel to The Broken Shore and comprehends murder, corruption, family, friends, honour, honesty, deceit, love, betrayal – and truth. A stunning story about contemporary Australian life, Truth is written with great moral sophistication.

On behalf of the judging panel, Morag Fraser commented “It was a controversial and challenging shortlist, accomplished and diverse in many ways that made the judges’ task very difficult. Each novel offered quite a distinct and compelling fictional journey”.

(from the Miles Franklin Award website)


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 15,965 other followers

%d bloggers like this: