BIG NEWS for fans of Stephen King’s The Dark Tower series…

by |November 10, 2011

StephenKing.com has announced that The Wind Through the Keyhole, the next instalment of the epic The Dark Tower series is set for release in 2012.

Dear Constant Readers,

At some point, while worrying over the copyedited manuscript of the next book (11/22/63, out Now), I started thinking—and dreaming—about Mid-World again. The major story of Roland and his ka-tet was told, but I realized there was at least one hole in the narrative progression: what happened to Roland, Jake, Eddie, Susannah, and Oy between the time they leave the Emerald City (the end of Wizard and Glass) and the time we pick them up again, on the outskirts of Calla Bryn Sturgis (the beginning of Wolves of the Calla)?

There was a storm, I decided. One of sudden and vicious intensity. The kind to which billy-bumblers like Oy are particularly susceptible. Little by little, a story began to take shape. I saw a line of riders, one of them Roland’s old mate, Jamie DeCurry, emerging from clouds of alkali dust thrown by a high wind. I saw a severed head on a fencepost. I saw a swamp full of dangers and terrors. I saw just enough to want to see the rest. Long story short, I went back to visit an-tet with my friends for awhile. The result is a novel called The Wind Through the Keyhole. It’s finished, and I expect it will be published next year.

It won’t tell you much that’s new about Roland and his friends, but there’s a lot none of us knew about Mid-World, both past and present. The novel is shorter than DT 2-7, but quite a bit longer than the first volume—call this one DT-4.5. It’s not going to change anybody’s life, but God, I had fun.

— Steve King

Visit The Dark Tower Official Web Site

ALSO:

Ron Howard has responded to those eager to learn the status of his planned adaptation of Stephen King’s novel series ‘The Dark Tower’, telling fans he is “fully committed” to the project despite lengthy delays. Source.

NEVER READ THEM? Get started below…


The Dark Tower

Book 1: The Gunslinger

The first novel in Stephen King’s unique, bestselling epic fantasy quest.

In THE GUNSLINGER, Stephen King introduces readers to one of his most enigmatic heroes, Roland of Gilead, the Last Gunslinger. He is a haunting figure, a loner, on a spellbinding journey into good and evil, in a desolate world which frighteningly echoes our own.

In his first step towards the powerful and mysterious Dark Tower, Roland encounters an alluring woman named Alice, begins a friendship with Jake, a kid from New York, and faces an agonising choice between damnation and salvation as he pursues the Man in Black.

Both grippingly realistic and eerily dreamlike, THE GUNSLINGER leaves readers eagerly awaiting the next chapter.

And the Tower is closer

BUY


Book 2: The Drawing of the Three

The second novel in Stephen King’s epic fantasy masterpiece – The Dark Tower

Roland of Gilead, the Last Gunslinger, encounters three doors which open to 1980s America, where he joins forces with the defiant Eddie Dean and courageous, volatile Odetta Holmes. And confronts deadly serial killer Jack Mort.

As the titanic forces gather, a savage struggle between underworld evil and otherworldly enemies conspire to bring an end to Roland’s quest for the Dark Tower…

Masterfully weaving dark fantasy and icy realism, THE DRAWING OF THE THREE compulsively propels readers toward the next chapter.

And the Tower is closer…

BUY


Book 3: The Waste Lands

The third novel in Stephen King’s magnificent epic tale about the quest to reach the Dark Tower.

Roland, the Last Gunslinger, is moving ever closer to the Dark Tower, which haunts his dreams and nightmares. Pursued by the Ageless Stranger, he and his friends follow the perilous path to Lud, an urban wasteland. And crossing a desert of damnation in this macabre new world, revelations begin to unfold about who – and what – is driving him forward.

A blend of riveting action and powerful drama, The Waste Lands leaves readers breathlessly awaiting the next chapter.

And the Tower is closer…

BUY


Book 4: Wizard and Glass

The fourth novel in Stephen King’s magnificent epic tale about the quest to reach the Dark Tower.

The Dark Tower beckons Roland, the Last Gunslinger, and the four companions he has gathered along the road.

And, having narrowly escaped one world, they set out on a terrifying journey across the scarred urban wasteland to brave a new world where hidden dangers lie at every junction: a malevolent computer-run monorail hurtling towards self-destruction, Roland s relentlessly cunning old enemy, and the temptation of the wizard s diabolical glass ball, a powerful force in Roland s first love affair. A tale of long-ago love and adventure involving a beautiful and quixotic woman named Susan Delgado.

And the Tower is closer…

BUY


Book 5: Wolves of the Calla

The fifth novel in Stephen King’s magnificent epic tale about the quest to reach the Dark Tower.

In the fertile lands of the East, the farming community has been warned the wolves are coming back. Four gunslingers, led by Roland of Gilead, are also coming their way. And the farmers of the Calla want to enlist some hard calibers.

Torn between protecting the innocent community and his urgent quest, Roland faces his most deadly perils as he journey through the Mid-World towards the Dark Tower.

And the Tower is closer…

BUY


Book 6: Song of Susannah

This a pivotal instalment in the epic saga provides the key to the quest that defines Roland’s life.

In the next part of their journey to the tower, Roland and his band of followers face adversity from every side: Susannah Dean has been taken over by a demon-mother and uses the power of Black Thirteen to get from the Mid-World New York City. But who is the father of her child And what role will the Crimson King play

Roland sends Jake to break Susannah’s date with destiny, while he himself uses ‘the persistence of magic’ to get to Maine in the Summer of 1977. It is a terrible world: for one thing it is real and bullets are flying. For another, it is inhabited by the author of a novel called ‘SALEM’S LOT.

SONG OF SUSANNAH is driven by revelation and by suspense. It continues THE DARK TOWER series seamlessly from WOLVES OF THE CALLA and the dramatic climax will leave readers desperate to read the quest’s conclusion.

BUY


Book 7: The Dark Tower

The triumphant, gripping finale to Stephen King’s magnificent, epic masterpiece – now available in mass market paperback

The final volume sees gunslinger Roland on a roller-coaster mix of exhilarating triumph and aching loss in his unrelenting quest to reach the dark tower.

Roland’s band of pilgrims remains united, though scattered. Susannah-Mia has been carried off to New York to give birth, Terrified of what may happen, Jake, Father Callahan and Oy follow.

Roland and Eddie are in Maine, looking for the site which will lead them to Susannah. As he finally closes in on the tower, Roland’s every step is shadowed by a terrible and sinister creation. And finally, he realises, he may have to walk the last dark strait alone…

You’ve come this far, Come a little farther, Come all the way, The sound you hear may be the slamming of the door behind you. Welcome to The Dark Tower.

BUY


No comments Share:
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail

About the Contributor

John Purcell (aka Natasha Walker) is the author of The Secret Lives of Emma trilogy published by Random House Australia. The Secret Lives of Emma: Beginnings reached the top ten on the Australian fiction charts and Natasha/John was the tenth highest selling Australian novelist and third highest selling Australian debut author in 2012. The trilogy has since sold over 50,000 copies in print and ebook and has been translated into French, Korean and Polish. John has worked in the book industry for over twenty-five years. While still in his twenties he opened John’s Bookshop, a second-hand bookshop in Mosman in which he sat for ten years reading, ranting and writing. Now he is the Director of Books at booktopia.com.au.

Follow John: Twitter Website

Comments

No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *