J.K. Rowling and Hunter S. Thompson featured tonight on The Book Club…

by |December 3, 2013

Rowling and Thompson, together at last! Tonight the folks at ABC TV’s The Book Club will be sinking their teeth into a couple of great books, The Cuckoo’s Calling and Fear and Loathing In Las Vegas.

Tune into ABC at 10pm tonight to watch the usual team of Jennifer Byrne, Jason Steger and Marieke Hardy chatting with tonight’s guests Lucy Turnbull and John Birmingham.

Coincidentally, you could also win a signed copy of J.K. Rowling’s The Casual Vacancy by buying The Cuckoo’s Calling from Booktopia before the 10th of December. How good is that!

The Cuckoo’s Calling

by Robert Galbraith (J.K. Rowling)

A remarkable debut – a classic crime novel in the tradition of James and Rendell.

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case.

A war veteran, wounded both physically and psychologically, Strike’s life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model’s complex world, the darker things get – and the closer he gets to terrible danger. . .

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London – from the hushed streets of Mayfair, to the backstreet pubs of the East End, to the bustle of Soho – The Cuckoo’s Calling is a remarkable debut. Introducing Cormoran Strike, it is a classic crime novel in the tradition of PD James and Ruth Rendell, and unlike any other book you will read this year.

Grab a copy of The Cuckoo’s Calling here

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas

by Hunter S. Thompson

Stylish reissue of a classic first published in the 1970s: Hunter S Thompson’s ether-fuelled, savage journey to the heart of the American Dream.

‘We were somewhere around Barstow on the edge of the desert when the drugs began to take hold. And suddenly there was a terrible roar all around us and the sky was full of what looked like huge bats, all swooping and screeching and diving around the car, which was going about a hundred miles an hour with the top down to Las Vegas’

As knights of old buckled on armour of supernatural power, so Hunter S. Thompson enters Las Vegas armed with a veritable arsenal of ‘heinous chemicals’. His perilous, drug-enhanced confrontations with casino operators, bartenders, police officers and assorted representatives of the Silent Majority have a hallucinatory humour and nightmare terror never before seen on the printed page.

Grab a copy of Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas here

No comments Share:
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail

About the Contributor

Andrew Cattanach is a regular contributor to The Booktopia Blog. He has been shortlisted for The Age Short Story Prize and was named a finalist for the 2015 Young Bookseller of the Year Award. He enjoys reading, writing and sleeping, though finds it difficult to do them all at once.

Follow Andrew: Twitter

Comments

No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *