REVIEW: Summer Skin by Kirsty Eagar

by |February 3, 2016

summer skinReview by Sarah McDuling

Summer Skin really and truly blew me away. I can’t remember the last time I had a reading experience that was so wonderfully surprising! When I picked up this book I expected a cute, fluffy YA romance and instead what I got was a smart, hard-hitting and emotionally weighted love story full of incredibly rich and layered characters. At turns shockingly honest and wildly funny, with moments of such raw vulnerability that it just breaks your heart … Summer Skin does not pull any punches. This is no-holds-barred storytelling at its best!

Covering a range of topics such as gender politics, sexual desire, slut shaming and rape culture, Summer Skin has a lot of important things to say – and it says them without once preaching or lecturing. Summer Skin deals with a lot of topical issues within the framework of a very engaging love story. Well written and sharply focused, it offers readers an authentic snapshot of Australian youth culture.

Ideal for fans of Melina Marchetta, Vikki Wakefield and Maureen McCarthy.

* Please note this book is marketed at teens aged 17+ and contains some material that may be considered unsuitable for younger readers.

Grab your SIGNED copy of Summer Skin here!


Summer Skin

by Kirsty Eagar

summer skinA searingly honest and achingly funny story about love and sex amid the hotbed of university colleges by the award-winning author of Raw Blue. Jess Gordon is out for revenge. Last year the jocks from Knights College tried to shame her best friend. This year she and a hand-picked college girl gang are going to get even.

The lesson: don’t mess with Unity girls. The target: Blondie, a typical Knights stud, arrogant, cold…and smart enough to keep up with Jess.

A neo-riot grrl with a penchant for fanning the flames meets a rugby-playing sexist pig – sworn enemies or two people who happen to find each other when they’re at their most vulnerable?

Grab your SIGNED copy of Summer Skin here!

No comments Share:
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail

About the Contributor

Sarah studied Journalism and worked for several years as a freelance copywriter before joining Booktopia, where she has found great joy in unleashing the full capacity of her book obsession! She is filled with boundless enthusiasm and zeal for all things book related and also has a slight tendency to overuse exclamation points!!!!!

Follow Sarah: Twitter

Comments

No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *