Cover reveal for Bab Sharkey and the Animal Mummies: The Weird Beard

by |January 29, 2018

Award-winning Australian comedian Andrew Hansen, best known for The Chaser, has teamed up with his wife, designer Jessica Roberts, to create their very first children’s book series.

On May 1, 2018  Bab Sharkey and the Animal Mummies: The Weird Beard, the first book in their new series, will release, and we’re excited to reveal the cover for what sounds like a fantastic new kids’ series. We absolutely adore this cover and can’t wait to get our hands on a copy so we can read the fun adventures of Bab Sharkey.

Suitable for readers aged 8+, Bab Sharkey and the Animal Mummies: The Weird Beard will have your kids laughing. Filled with jokes and black-and-white illustrations throughout, this lighthearted read is perfect for fans of Anh Do, Peter Helliar and David Walliams. See below for the full synopsis.

Bab Sharkey and the Animal Mummies: The Weird Beard by Andrew Hansen and Jessica Roberts.


About the Book


Set in Mumphis, a lost city in the Egyptian desert that offers endless opportunities for trouble and mishaps, Animal mummies is about brilliant and clever 12-year-old Bab Sharkey who is taken to Mumphis after he befriends a pair of weird mummified animals magically brought to life (a tattered dead ibis and a bony fish, who smell pretty bad until you get used to it).

When Bab first meets the Animal Mummies, they’ve just found their long lost magical artefact, the Pharaoh’s Beard. To their amazement, the Beard fuses itself to Bab’s chin, ‘choosing’ him as the Animal Mummies’ new Pharaoh on account of his great cleverness. Wearing the Beard allows Bab to visit Mumphis, the magical city of the Animal Mummies which is otherwise invisible to humans.

Plus the Beard’s pretty cool and can turn into different shapes on Bab’s command. You want a wheelbarrow-shaped Beard? You got it, Mr Pharaoh.

But it isn’t all beardy good times in Mumphis. The previous owner of the Pharaoh’s Beard was the Unpharaoh, a ruthless queen. Nowadays she’s fortunately dead, and therefore trapped in the Afterworld. But her scheming servant, Cainus the Jackal, manages to steal the Beard from Bab and the Animal Mummies after dressing up in a slightly embarrassing disguise. Cainus uses the Beard to mix a magic frappe that resurrects the Unpharaoh, who returns from the Afterworld and seizes control of Mumphis once more.

Bab and his new Animal Mummy friends must use their unique skills (and overcome their general lack of coordination) to defeat Cainus and banish the Unpharaoh back to the Afterworld. Can they do it?


One thing’s for certain, we can’t wait to read this exciting new read! Pre-order your copy today.

Bab Sharkey and the Animal Mummies: The Weird Beardby Andrew Hansen, Jessica Roberts

Bab Sharkey and the Animal Mummies: The Weird Beard

by Andrew Hansen, Jessica Roberts

Set in Mumphis, a lost city in the Egyptian desert that offers endless opportunities for trouble and mishaps, Animal mummies is about brilliant and clever 12-year-old Bab Sharkey who is taken to Mumphis after he befriends a pair of weird mummified animals magically brought to life (a tattered dead ibis and a bony fish, who smell pretty bad until you get used to it).

When Bab first meets the Animal Mummies, they’ve just found their long lost magical artefact, the Pharaoh’s Beard. To their amazement, the Beard fuses itself to Bab’s chin, ‘choosing’ him as the Animal Mummies’ new Pharaoh on account...

Order NowRead More

No comments Share:
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail

About the Contributor

Tanaya has been a lover of books for as long as she can remember. Now, her book collection is a little out of control, mostly consisting of YA fiction and pretty hardcovers. When she’s not reading, she spends a lot of her time taking photos of books for her bookstagram account, @prettypagesblog. She also has a love of Disneyland, bullet journaling and cats.

Follow Tanaya: Twitter

Comments

No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *