Two new must-read thrillers!

by |April 19, 2018

Two new must-read thrillers!

May is another spectacular month for crime and thriller fans. We have a super creepy new addition to the Joona Linna series by Lars Kepler, and a stunning new thriller from Sarah Pinborough (author of Behind Her Eyes). Read on for my reviews of these page-turning thrillers!

Plus, this month brings new books from a sensational selection of bestselling authors including David Baldacci, James Patterson, Jessica Knoll, Karen Rose, Peter James, Yrsa Sigurdardottir, and so many more.

Happy reading!


Cross Her Heart by Sarah PinboroughCross Her Heart
by Sarah Pinborough

For some inexplicable reason, I haven’t yet read Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough. So many people have recommended it to me. I’ve heard that it’s full of insane plot twists and has the most mind-blowing ending ever. And yet, despite all this, for some reason I just haven’t got around to reading it yet.

I now realise what a big mistake this is!!

As soon as I finished Sarah Pinborough’s latest thriller, Cross Her Heart, I immediately jumped online and ordered a copy of Behind Her Eyes. If it’s even half as addictive and unpredictable as Cross Her Heart, I’m going to love it!

Cross Her Heart follows three different characters. Lisa is an overprotective and nervous single mother who is doing her best to escape a dark and violent past. Ava is Lisa’s daughter, a self-absorbed teenager. Marilyn is Lisa’s best friend who is always there to support her.

All three characters are keeping secrets from each other and nothing is really what it seems – which is the exact recipe for a riveting psychological thriller! There are so many layers to this story and so many wildly unexpected twists.

The book had me hooked from the start. The characters are instantly engaging and the writing is so smooth and effortless I felt myself completely sucked into the story. And then suddenly, like magic, it was over! I zipped through this book so quickly, I was frankly amazed when I realised I had reached the last page.

Cross Her Heart kept me in a state of constant uncertainty and desperate curiosity from start to finish. It’s the kind of thriller that will leave readers reeling and gasping for breath. It’s literally impossible to figure out who to trust or what will happen – mostly because the story will drag readers in so completely they won’t even TRY to figure it out. Like me, they’ll be too busy enjoying the read!

Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, S.J. Watson, Gillian Flynn and Megan Abbott. Learn more.


The Rabbit Hunter by Lars KeplerThe Rabbit Hunter
Joona Linna Series: Book 6
by Lars Kepler

For anyone unfamiliar with Lars Kepler, it is the pseudonym used by authors Alexander Ahndoril and Alexandra Coelho Ahndoril – the husband and wife co-authors behind the bestselling Joona Linna series.

I can personally vouch for the fact that you don’t need to read this series in order. In fact, I have been accidentally reading it out of order. I started with number 2 (The Nightmare) not realising it was part of a series. I then skipped up to number 5 (Stalker) thinking it was a standalone novel by the same author. The Rabbit Hunter is the sixth book in this series and I think it’s the best one I’ve read so far. I also think it’s time for me to go back to the first book and start filling in the gap.

The Rabbit Hunter starts out with a shocking series of events. A young sex worker arrives at the house of a client and falls prey to a violent attack. It seems pretty clear who will be the killer and who will be the murder victim. And then things take an unexpected turn. Predator becomes prey as the client – who turns out to be the Swedish Foreign Minister – is suddenly and expediently executed by a masked intruder.

The plot unfolds from this point in complex and increasingly terrifying directions, with several intriguing subplots along the way. This series is grim and dark and incredibly unsettling. I would say that it’s definitely not for the squeamish or the faint of heart – you need to be prepared for some gruesome violence and loads of creepy horror. I read the majority of this book late at night which was probably a bad idea. It didn’t actually give me nightmares (at least not that I can remember?) but I woke up with a distinct sense of unease. These book are deeply disturbing, but also wholly absorbing!

Perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo, Steig Larsson and David Lagercrantz. Learn more.

No comments Share:
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail

About the Contributor

Sarah studied Journalism and worked for several years as a freelance copywriter before joining Booktopia, where she has found great joy in unleashing the full capacity of her book obsession! She is filled with boundless enthusiasm and zeal for all things book related and also has a slight tendency to overuse exclamation points!!!!!

Follow Sarah: Twitter

Comments

No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *