Search results for author: Anastasia Hadjidemetri

About Anastasia Hadjidemetri

Anastasia Hadjidemetri is the editor of The Booktopian and star of Booktopia's weekly YouTube show, Booked with Anastasia. A big reader and lover of books, Anastasia relishes the opportunity to bring you all the latest news from the world of books.

BOOK REVIEW: The Heart Goes Last by Margaret Atwood (Review by Caroline Baum)

Canada’s literary grande dame, Margaret Atwood, is the high priestess of dystopia. As its ruling authority, she invents plots that are devilish in their scary plausibility and disturbingly accurate in their critique of where today’s extremes will lead to if we are not hyper vigilant. But she is a hugely entertaining and playful Cassandra, peppering her visions of future doom with wi... Read more

by | September 28, 2015

Mark Hunt talks to Booktopia TV about his new book, Born to Fight

Born to Fight is a powerful story of sadness, hope, pride, honour and triumph from the real-life Rocky. As fearless with his opinions as he is in the Octagon, Mark Hunt pulls no punches in revealing the highs and lows of his extraordinary life. For a limited time only, order Born to Fight and you will receive a signed copy. Please note: offer available while stocks last. Born to Fight by Mark H... Read more

by | September 28, 2015

BOOK REVIEW: Flower Addict by Saskia Havekes (Review by Caroline Baum)

If you love flowers, nature, beauty or art start dropping hints now for Christmas if you want to get your hands on this magnificent book by Sydney-based A-list florist, Saskia Havekes, and her team at Grandiflora.  Dipping flowers in wax or encasing them in blocks of ice, Havekes is always experimenting and pushing the limits, whether working on a small bouquet or on a grand scale for a special... Read more

by | September 25, 2015

BOOK REVIEW: Zeroes by Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan and Deborah Biancotti (Review by Sarah McDuling)

Zeroes is a glorious mix between a comic-book adventure and a heist film. Like Ocean’s Eleven meets The Avengers … except all the characters are teenagers with the kind of superpowers that are often more of a hindrance than a help. Created by the genius trio of Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan and Deborah Biancotti – Zeroes is a wildly dynamic and addictive read packed full of ... Read more

by | September 24, 2015

BOOK REVIEW: Second Half First by Drusilla Modjeska (Review by Caroline Baum)

What a welcome return this memoir is, from one of my favourite writers of non-fiction. Fans of Poppy, The Orchard and Stravinsky’s Lunch will, like me, welcome this finely woven lattice of memory. In a tone of gentle melancholy (very similar to that of her speaking voice), Modjeska scrutinises her own intellectual development and the losses and sadnesses of her life: most particularly and... Read more

by | September 23, 2015

BOOK REVIEW: M Train by Patti Smith (Review by Caroline Baum)

This slim volume is hard to describe and to categorise. It appears to be about nothing much and yet it has a haunting quality. Smith is a poet in every phrase and every cadence. Fuelled by superhuman coffee intake (fourteen cups a day!) she goes in search of the best beans on the planet, drifting, digressing, dreaming and reading. Seemingly directionless and flimsy, this is a marvellously seduc... Read more

by | September 22, 2015

BOOK REVIEW: The Natural Way of Things by Charlotte Wood (Review by John Purcell)

Charlotte Wood’s latest novel, The Natural Way of Things, seethes with an anger the source of which doesn’t seem to be the text itself. Speaking with her, she does admit on reading an early draft to being surprised at discovering this underlying anger in her novel. Charlotte’s last novel, Animal People, sought out the smoothed over hypocrisy of modern life. The sound of muffle... Read more

by | September 22, 2015

BOOK REVIEW: Reckoning by Magda Szubanksi (Review by John Purcell)

Pretend you have never heard the name Magda Szubanski. I know it’s difficult. You’re probably already picturing her as Sharon Strzelecki in Kath and Kim, or as Esme Hoggett in Babe, or as Pixie-Anne Wheatley or Chenille from Fast Forward. But do try. Reckoning isn’t a celebrity memoir. Magda’s story is rich, beautifully told and moving. The daughter of Polish and Scottis... Read more

by | September 21, 2015