Reviews Archives

REVIEW: Maestra by L.S. Hilton

The buzz around this book is incredible. It has been sold into so many countries around the world I have lost count. In the tradition of Fifty Shades, Gone Girl, and Girl on a Train, Maestra by L.S. Hilton has all the hallmarks of a bestseller. You’ll be seeing people reading this on planes, trains, buses, down at the beach, in parks – wherever people have a minute to sneak in anoth... Read more

by | February 15, 2016

REVIEW: The Big Rewind by Libby Cudmore

Review by Sarah McDuling I really loved this book! It’s always so great to come across something different and The Big Rewind is like a breath of fresh air! Described as Raymond Chandler meets Nick Hornby, The Big Rewind plays out like a noir detective story set in hipster Brooklyn. With wry humor and consistently clever plotting, we join Jett Bennett, aspiring music journalist, as she hu... Read more

by | February 9, 2016

REVIEW: Summer Skin by Kirsty Eagar

Review by Sarah McDuling Summer Skin really and truly blew me away. I can’t remember the last time I had a reading experience that was so wonderfully surprising! When I picked up this book I expected a cute, fluffy YA romance and instead what I got was a smart, hard-hitting and emotionally weighted love story full of incredibly rich and layered characters. At turns shockingly honest and w... Read more

by | February 3, 2016

REVIEW: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Review by Sarah McDuling Victoria Aveyard really knows how to keep readers wanting more. Last year, Red Queen shot to the top of the best sellers lists as people everywhere found themselves captivated by the story of Mare Barrow AKA The Lightning Girl. Red Queen is a fast paced and action-packed tale set in a dystopian society with a rigid class structure, in a world full of people with superpo... Read more

by | February 2, 2016